Making Digital Heritage Multisensory - Research Summit

Dates or Deadline: 
4 September 2019

Research Summit Series #3 (live-streamed)
Danube University Krems


Making Digital Heritage Multisensory
Strategies and Political Impact

Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Danube University Krems, Audimax
Admission is free. Please register via zbw@donau-uni.ac.at

Research Summit Series #3
Digital technologies and culture have become part of the fabric of our societies. In the digital sphere, artistic creation and scientific research are closely intertwined with the latest technological developments. Interfaces, visualisations, social media platforms, innovative communication devices, and data mining are significant components of our digital heritage. Does the inclusion of digital heritage into the museum world also enable digital arts to be finally represented in our publicly funded institutions?

The Research Summit is a new conference format at Danube University with the overall goal of bringing together scientists, technicians, students and the interested public for an interdisciplinary exchange.

Start times: San Francisco 5:30, New York 8:30, Sao Paulo 9:30, London 13:30, Krems 14:30, Moscow 15:30, Tbilisi 16:30, New Delhi 18:00, Bangkok 19:30, Singapore 20:30, Seoul 21:30, Sydney 22:30

14:30
Welcome & Introduction

Digital Arts & The Museum: A Political Game
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oliver Grau
Chair Professor Department for Image Science
Danube University Krems

14:45
Keynote 1

Experimental Museology: Sculpting Cultural Data
Prof. Dr. Sarah Kenderdine
Director of Laboratory for Experimental Museology (eM+)
École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

15:15
Keynote 2

Making Digital Tangible
Prof. Dr. Hiroshi Ishii
Jerome B. Wiesner Professor of Media Arts and Sciences
Associate Director of MIT Media Laboratory
Director of Tangible Media Group
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

15:45
Panel

Prof. Dr. Oliver Grau, Chair professor, Department for Image Science, Danube University Krems, Austria
Prof. Dr. Ryszard Kluszczyński, Chair Professor, Department of Media and Audiovisual Culture, University of Lodz, Poland
Ass. Prof. Dr. Morten Søndergaard, Research Laboratory for Art and Technology, Aalborg University, Denmark

17:00
Get-together

 

Live stream links can be found at Media Arts Cultures and Danube University Krems.